/ languages

Choisir langue

Cannes film festival 2009

Huppert to head jury; Loach, Tarantino and Almodavar in competition at Cannes

Article published on the 2009-04-23 Latest update 2009-04-23 14:57 TU

Isabelle Huppert(Photo: AFP)

Isabelle Huppert
(Photo: AFP)

French actress Isabelle Huppert and Italy's Asia Argento are among the jurors for the 62nd Cannes film festival to be held in the Riviera resort on 13-24 May. Big names pitching for the Palme d'Or include the US's Quentin Tarnantino, Britain's Ken Loach and Spain's Pedro Almodavar.

Here is the list of contenders unveiled on Thursday

Official selection:

  • Los abrazos rotos (Broken Embraces) by Pedro Almodovar (Spain);
  • Fish tank by Andrea Arnold (Britain)
  • Un prophète (A Prophet) by Jacques Audiard (France)
  • Vincere (To Conquer) by Marco Bellocchio (Italy)
  • Bright star by Jane Campion (New Zealand)
  • Map of the sounds of Tokyo by Isabel Coixet (Spain)
  • A l'origine (In the Beginning) by Xavier Giannoli (France)
  • Das weisse Band (The White Ribbon) by Michael Haneke (Germany)
  • Taking Woodstock by Ang Lee (Taiwan-United States)
  • Looking for Eric by Ken Loach (Britain)
  • Spring Fever by Lou Ye (China)
  • Kinatay by Brillante Mendoza (Philippines)
  • Soudain le vide (Enter the void) by Gaspar Noé (France)
  • Bak-Jwi (Thirst) by Park Chan-wook (South Korea)
  • Les Herbes Folles (Wild grasses) by Alain Resnais (France)
  • The time that remains by Elia Suleiman (Palestinian)
  • Inglourious Basterds by Quentin Tarantino (United States)
  • Vengeance by Johnnie To (Hong Kong)
  • Visages (Face) by Tsai Ming-Liang (Malaysia)
  • Antichrist by Lars von Trier (Denmark)

Off-competition screenings:

  • The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus by Terry Gilliam (United States)
  • Agora by Alejandro Amenabar (Spain)
  • L'Armée du Crime by Robert Guediguian (France)

The jury

Huppert, who has twice won best actress winner, is to head the jury. Other jurors are:

  • Asia Argento (Italy), actress, director, screenwriter;
  • Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Turkey), director, screenwriter, actor;
  • Lee Chang-Dong (South Korea), director, screenwriter;
  • James Gray (United States), director, screenwriter;
  • Hanif Kureishi (Britain), novelist, screenwriter,
  • Shi Qi (Taiwan), actress;
  • Robin Wright Penn (United States), actress;

British director John Boorman will head a second jury which will judge short films.